The winning corporate team, RGM Capital LLC, included Ed Novinksi and Jason Krishnan. They are pictured with co-chairsWayne Meyland and Gary Parsons.


A record-breaking 45 teams participated in the 2014 RedSnook Catch & Release Charity Tournament that took place Oct. 24-26, generating $72,000 to support juvenile gamefish studies, water-quality research and estuary protection conducted by Conservancy of Southwest Florida.

Wayne A. Meland of Morgan Stanley sponsored the event. Meland also served as event co-chair, along with Gary Parsons. The 2014 honorary chair was Oliver White, a rising star in the fly fishing community and passionate conservationist.

“The mission of the Conservancy of Southwest Florida and their water quality work is a natural fit for the conservation work I do,” White said. “I’m proud to be the RedSnook Honorary Chair. I think the slogan, Clean Water! More Fish! sums it up perfectly.”

Rob Moher, president and


Left to right: Julie Kukk, Becky Meland and Stephanie Parsons.

CEO of the Conservancy, said he was very pleased with this year’s results. “I’m truly grateful to Wayne Meland, Gary Parsons, Oliver White and the rest of the RedSnook Committee for their hard work and dedication, which made this year’s RedSnook Tournament one of the best ever. I’d also like to thank the anglers and guides who participated. Their support shows just how much our community cares about protecting water quality.”

The tournament began with a Kick-Off Party and Auction on Oct. 24 at the Conservancy and a buffet dinner provided by Longhorn Steakhouse. The competition began Saturday morning, Oct. 25, and continued on Sunday, Oct. 26. Winners were announced at an awards ceremony Sunday evening at Northern Trust.


Left to right: Rob Moher, Conservancy president andCEO; Chris McEachern; Jon Kukk; Oliver White, honorary chair; and Wayne Meyland, co-chair

First Place Guided Bait Division: 3,530 points. Gary Sandor and Maureen Sandor. Guide: Mike Merritt

First Place Unguided Bait Division: 3,960 points. Doug Hanks and Troy Pruitt

First Place Guided Artificial Division: 3,195 points. Keith Sullivan and Andrew Dolwick. Guide: Bill Faulkner

First Place Unguided Artificial Division: 3,240 points. Gary Parsons and Stephanie Parsons

First Place Fly Division: 2,340 points. Alan Kuhre and Michelle Brown. Guide: John Stark

In addition, awards were given in the following categories:

Top Female Angler: 2,370 points. Maureen Sandor

Winning Corporate Team: 3,570 points. RGM Capital LLC, Ed Novinski and Jason Krishnan. Unguided

Largest Snook: 39 inches. Todd Gates. Guide: Connor McNichols

Largest Red: 31 inches. Dan Kozlow

Best Picture: Catherine Brown

Trash Can Slam: Trish Ray. Jack: 18 inches. Ladyfish: 19 inches. Catfish: 15 inches. Total: 52 inches


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.