Saturday, April 17, 2021

Vote! Everglades City Election Results

Everglades City experienced a large turnout in the recent election for mayor, and three open seats on its five-seat city council. One hundred sixty-six ballots were cast from 264 registered voters, an almost 63 percent turnout.

There were two incumbents on the ballot this election, along with four other candidates. Council member Johnny Potter was not reelected, while incumbent Elaine Middelstaedt was reelected.

Billy Snyder failed to unseat Howie Grimm, the Mayor-Pro Tem. Grimm, who received 73.78 percent of the votes, will remain in place for at least the next two years.

Along with Middelstaedt, newcomers Vicky Wells and Tim Smith, Sr. were elected to council. McBeth Collins and Parker Oglesby currently occupy the other two council seats that were not on the ballot this cycle.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *