Monday, May 17, 2021

Realtors Salute the Past Year & Look to The Future

New Directors & Board Members Installed During Hilton Ceremony

Photos by Quentin Roux | Dawn Norgren shows delight and surprise at being named Affiliate of the Year.

It was a night of all-round thanks and spirited applause, but perhaps the biggest cheers of all erupted when Jack Winnik was named Marco Realtor of the Year.

Winnik was among five people honored for above and beyond performances during the Marco Island Area Association’s 44th annual installation of officers and directors.

Presenting the award to Winnik, previous winner Mike O’Rourke said Winnik was equally community and association minded.

“When Hurricane Irma came through, he stayed on Marco to help 30 residents by giving their pets shelter in his upstairs Marco building,” O’Rourke said. 

“Winnik,” he added, “also took care of a 98-year-old resident by taking him to a shelter, and during the year he was instrumental in improving the grounds and interior of the MIAAOR building off Bald Eagle Drive.”

Other award winners were Ken Gandy (Realtor emeritus recognition), Dawn Norgren (Affiliate of the Year), Pattie Ziesig (Unsung Hero – she is an association staff member), Dawn Norgren and Jack Winnik (President’s special awards recipients), and Linda Sandlin (the Richard Shanahan service award).

Long-serving Marco Realtor Pat Wilkins and his wife Mary were among the crowd of about 120 attendees.

In his remarks, outgoing President Steve Josselyn thanked the board and MIAAOR staffers, singling out CEO Kandy Sweeney’s sterling management efforts.

“I have great confidence in the new leadership team too,” Josselyn said. 

That team consists of president Ileana Bogaert, president-elect Jim McGregor, secretary-treasurer Charlie Neal, one-year board members Litha Berger, Helen Donaghy, Jack Winnik and Cheryl Stokes (Realtors Support Network representative).

Two-year members are Reilly McGregor and Pat Wilkins, while three-year members are Cathy Rogers and Tammi Vance.

Josselyn and later new president Bogaert paid special tribute to MIAAOR staffers, CEO Kandy Sweeny, communications director Caroline Charde, bookkeeper Jill Groves, membership director Linda Johns Carroll and Multiple Listing Service director Pattie Ziesig.

In her first official address as president, Bogaert emphasized her desire for unity and collaboration among members regionally, statewide and nationally.

She reiterated that Florida is number one in the country for foreign national investment, and said she and her board would be open to suggestions and ideas pertaining to the industry as well as the association.

“I will also continue to promote the important role Realtors play in our community,” Bogaert said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *