Saturday, December 5, 2020

Letter to the Editor: What do Fort Lauderdale Commissioners and Citizens Know, that Marco Does Not?

In response to complaints by its residents regarding vacation rentals, the City of Ft. Lauderdale recently passed Ordinance #C-15-29. Included in the Ordinance:

 

Mandatory registration of single family home or condo that is to be used for rentals. Final fee schedule still to be determined although initial fees proposed were $750 in year 1 and $500 for subsequent years.

 

“Name, address, and emergency contact phone number of responsible party for said property, which shall be a 24 hour, 7 days a week contact number. That the phone number for the Responsible party will be answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by the Responsible party.”

 

Among the Acknowledgements by owner: vehicles will be parked in compliance with Ft. Lauderdale Code; it shall be unlawful to allow or make any noise or sound that exceeds the limits of their Noise Control; no trash located for pickup before 6:00 p.m.; proof of registration with the Florida Department of Revenue for sales tax collection and Broward County for Tourist Development Tax/

 

The Responsible Party “is required to be registered…the Owner shall appoint a person who resides within 25 miles of the Vacation Rental property” and that the Responsible Party must (a) inform all guests, in writing, prior to occupancy of the property of applicable Ft. Lauderdale ordinances concerning noise, vehicle parking, garbage and common area usage; (b) maintain all properties in compliance with occupancy limits; (c) be available with authority to address and coordinate solutions to problems with the property 24 hours a day, 7 days a week; (d) keep available a register of all guests, which shall be open to inspection by authorized personnel of the City of Fort Lauderdale at all times.

 

Among the Vacation Rental Standards: (a) a swimming pool, spa or hot tub shall comply with current standards of the Residential Swimming Pool Safety Act of Florida Statutes; (b) All sleeping rooms shall meet the single- and two-family dwelling minimum requirements of the Florida Building Code; (c) smoke and carbon monoxide detection and notification system (if one does not exist it must be installed); (d) fire extinguisher installed and inspected.

 

Maximum occupancy is 2 persons per sleeping room plus 2 additional people; maximum occupancy shall be limited to 10 transient occupants per rental unit or 16, depending on the zone; occupancy may not exceed 3 transient occupants per 1 off-street official parking space.

 

Other provisions include that (a) the rental/lease agreement shall contain the minimum language of the Ordinance; (b) a statement advising the Occupant that “any sound shall not be plainly audible for a period of one minute or longer at a distance of 25 feet or more when measured from the source property line between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. and at a distance of fifty feet or more between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. daily”; and (c) annual inspections.

 

What do the Ft. Lauderdale Commissioners and citizens know that Marco Island doesn’t?

 

By Theresa Rejrat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *