Friday, May 7, 2021


Marco Island City Council met in Special Session on November 19 to reduce the number of candidates to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of former councilor Victor Rios. The seat will be filled by a vote of councilors rather than through the election process due to the fact that Rios chose not to resign until after the closing of the filing period for the 2020 Election.

The City Clerk’s office accepted applications and resumes for the position until Monday, November 16, when they were distributed to councilors for review. Ten applications were received during that seven-day period. Those applying were Claire Babrowski, Brad Brenner, Donald Dinella, David Knoth, Milind Limave, Nanette Rivera, David Romano, Elizabeth Stephenson, Duane Thomas and Maria Tobin.

Council pared the list of 10 to three finalists: Claire Babrowski, Nanette Rivera and Elizabeth Stephenson. They will be interviewed by each councilor separately, and brought forward at the December 7 meeting.

In a separate item of business, Council finalized the creation of the Marco Island Community Parks Foundation. The Foundation will assist the city in providing private funding for the acquisitions and capital improvement in city parks. The Foundation was suggested by then Council Chairman Erik Brechnitz to provide a mechanism through which private donations might be made.

The Resolution appointed the following members to the Foundation Board of Directors: Mike Ilitch, Jr., Christina Ilitch de Obando, Rene Champagne, David Cox, Erik Brechnitz, Jim Richards and Carlos Portu, Chair of the City’s Parks and Recreation Committee

The Resolution passed unanimously.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *