Thursday, April 22, 2021

2011 Christmas Ornament Design Contest



Bette McGilvray & Barbara Dasti were Co-Chairs for this year’s Christmas Island Style Ornament Design contest.

There were 82 entries from Marco Island Charter Middle School students for the 2011 CIS ornament design contest under the direction of Shane Totten, art teacher.  The 2011 theme was  SEA TURTLES.

The judging took place at the Marco Island Center for the Arts on Monday Nov 22, 2010.   The winners were announced and will be introduced at the CIS Tree Lighting ceremony on Dec. 4th 2010.

The top 3 winners will receive a savings bond from Christmas Island Style. All winners will be recognized at the Christmas Island Style awards Ceremony on January 10th, 2011.

Judges for the CIS Ornament contest were:

Cathy Callahan- Marco Island Charter School

Vip Grover- president of Marco Island Chamber of Commerce

Jennifer Johnson- Eagle Creek Golf & Country Club

Fia Kaplan- Island Woman

Jacquie Koon- CJ’s on the Bay

Denise Lewis- Suntimes

D. Michaels- Director, Marco Island Center for the Arts

Richard Shanahan- Gem Remotes

Mary Quinton- Naples News Media Group

Winners for the 2011 CIS Ornament are:

1st place Jay Vanderjagt

2nd place Cesar Lora

3rd place Shannon O’Regan

Honorable mentions go equally to:

Nayeli Cervantes, Candice Hanlon & Shane Kelley

CIS wants to thank all the students and judges who participated in this special annual event!  2010 Ornaments can be purchased for $12.00 at the Marco Island Florist, CJ’s on the Bay, Marco Chamber of Commerce, Marco Craft & Shell, Marco Art League, Keep in Touch, and Salon & Spa Botanica.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *